Vito’s 7th Birthday

His real birthday is actually a few days from now, but the family celebrated Vito’s birthday today, Sunday, because his dad is scheduled for out-of-town work. My kids’ birthdays are the only times you would see me cook more than two dishes at a time. I cooked some Filipino dishes like beef caldereta and marinated the pork for our barbecue in skewers. My mom cooked kare-kare and bopis.

I baked Vito’s birthday cake, as I have been doing ever since his 3rd birthday. This year I proudly present a black forest cake which, to my surprise, was very easy to make…It was a four-layer cake, with natilla filling in the middle layer (which is really not supposed to be natilla-filled, but son number 1 requested it). I just really make an effort to bake their birthday cakes because we’re just so fed up with the strawberry shortcakes that are sold in the Fujiya bakeshops!

Not bad for a first try, isn’t it?

For extra, I also baked these carrot cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, just in case we run out of cake for late-coming guests, which is mostly my cousins, aunts, and their families.

Happy birthday Vito! We love you! Oriko shite ne!

4 thoughts on “Vito’s 7th Birthday

Leave a Reply

