Treeless In Toyoyama

Just posting an update regarding my last post about our Nihon Matsu (Japanese pine tree).

It’s gone…

When I came home for lunch all that was left was a stump just above its roots encircled by my gazanias.

Was this a surprise by my husband who has been procrastinating for years to cut it???

Hell, no! Actually, I had it done…I settled for the easy way. For 3000 yen, a group of still very able septuagenarians in our town’s silver human resource center called シルバーさん  (silver san) chopped it off this morning and took care of the disposal.  I’ve heard about them before but never thought of seeking their service for cutting our tree until a Japanese friend suggested them to me a week ago. 3,000 yen costs a lot but is very reasonable and much cheaper than having my husband take a leave from work for a day just to chop the tree to pieces so that they would fit in ordinary garbage bags.  And, at least, I got to help out our ojii-sans by giving them work for a day…

Our front yard looks very different now, somewhat bare.  Should I plant another tree?

Leave a Reply

